Columbia College Chicago

Fashion Columbia 2013

Student Designs Shine at Fashion Columbia 2013!

Fashion Columbia 2013 on June 7 saw more than 200 guests fill the Columbia College Media Production Center to celebrate designs of 15 recent fashion studies graduates. In the second year of a revamped evening format event, the silent and live auctions, ticket sales and corporate sponsorships helped raise $150,000 for student scholarships in the Department of Fashion Studies.

During the program, author and Essence magazine Editor-at-Large Mikki Taylor received the Fashion Columbia Visionary Award for her contributions to fashion and style, leading a cross section of women of all colors for more than 30 years. The Emerging Alumni Award was presented to alumna Lauren McKeague (’07, Arts, Entertainment and Media Management with a focus in retail management), owner of Pink Slip Dress Boutique in Mokena, Ill.VIP guests started the evening mingling in an open-air courtyard during a reception with a live DJ before the show. The main event, the fashion show, in the MPC’s 7,200-square-foot main sound stage, featured 45 student designs, including evening gowns, outerwear and dresses presented in a strobe-lit runway-style format.

The Fashion Columbia 2013 chair was Susanna Negovan, editor of Splash, a Chicago Sun-Times publication. Emcee for the evening was actress and alumna Michelle Alegria.

Photo Credits: Steve Becker & Robert Kusel

If you would support the Fashion Studies Department we invite you to do so

Donate Button

A special thanks to our Host Committee:

  • Patricia Andrews-Keenan
  • Ariel Investments
  • Nandi Shikse Ballard
  • Madeleine Moore Burrell
  • Gwendolyn L. Butler
  • Lester Coney
  • Jeanna Cullins
  • Jill Dodds
  • Susan Downing
  • Loranne Ehlenbach
  • John Gehron
  • Mary Lou Haddad
  • Melissa Kelz
  • Averill Leviton
  • Madeline Murphy Rabb
  • Sylvia Neil
  • Pamela Orr
  • Brittney Payton
  • Arlen D. & Elaine Cohen Rubin
  • Ellen Stone Belic
  • Stephen Ware
  • Allison Grant Williams

Sponsored by

Sponsor Logos